My Dream Role in GLEE

Everyone knows how much of a Gleek I am!!! I am so in love with Glee ever since I watched the show for the first time and I’ve never stopped following it ever since. I just can’t relate to all the issues that the show tackles- self acceptance, love, the struggle to belong, bullying and many more. It is funny to watch and yet, it never fails to inspire a lot of its viewers in many ways. That’s why you just can’t blame all these millions of fans going gaga over it. As a person of the arts, I always look forward to what songs the cast will sing and how they are going to execute their dance numbers. This is one of the reasons why I love Glee- it has captured two of the things I love the most in life, dancing and singing.

Being the dreamer that I am, I’ve always put my chin on my right hand and start to daydream of being in Glee. What if I get myself in the show? What will my character be? What songs will I sing? Will I be hated? Who will I fall in love with? Will I be mean character or another oppressed member of the New Directions?

Well let me share you this fantasy that has been running in my mind for some time, the dream GLEE role that I have.

MEET CHRIS

I wanna play the role of Chris, a new international exchange student from the Philippines who tries to hide his true sexual preference with his dorky looks. I know some of you are saying like “What? A discreet dorky exchange student from the Philippines? It sounds like combining Sunshine Corazon and David Karofsky (that doesn’t sound like a good combo though) in one role.”

You, guys, are right! It does sound like that but I have my reasons of course. I wanna play a role of an exchange student from the Philippines because my English doesn’t really sound Americanized. And I wanna have a hard provincial Filipino accent. It’s not a form of mockery to my country men from the rural areas but of course, it’s also another perspective that we can show to everyone. I want my character to be remarkable to the viewers and in doing so, I had to make something really unique, something that the Filipino people might have seen already but not the rest of the world.

Why dorky again? I know some of you might be scared that the whole world might stereotype Filipinos as braniacs with no social life but this shall only be an initial phase for my character. It will go through a series of development through the help of the resident gay boy of Glee, Kurt. Kurt will discover Chris’s long kept secret though his innate gaydar. Thinking that he is the only person who can understand him at school, he takes care of Chris and makes him a prodigy. Kurt will teach Chris about everything being gay- from fashion, hygiene, music and all that. In the end, Chris, the ugly duckling shall be a beautiful swan with the help of her fairy Kurt-mother.

And why Chris? Well I got the name from my blog and I do think that it’s the perfect name. A lot of Filipinos are named Chris and it’s such an androgynous name. Just right and perfect for another gay character in Glee.

And most of all, why gay…again? Well, this is the reason.

BITING THE HANDS THAT FED HIM

As the friendship of Kurt and Chris grows, a big problem arises between them. Chris will get to know Blaine and he will get hypnotized and fall in love with him. Now that’s some drama- not only a teen drama but a gay teen drama. It’s time that we throw away the Rachel-Finn-Quinn love triangle to the past. It’s time that a new love competition arises in the show and how lovely it will be to expose that homosexual relationships also encounter the same problems that heteros do. Besides, Glee is used to switching from one partner to another in the same club. Kurt and Blaine might as well join the bandwagon.

But I cannot see any hair pulling within the two characters because Chris and Kurt are both refined and graceful. They don’t believe that in petty cat fights and violence. They shall compete against each other with the things they are experts about- music and fashion. Talk about a fashion diva face off!

Will Chris be able to steal Blaine from Kurt? Well, honestly, I don’t want to ruin the beauty of the KLAINE chemistry and break the hearts of a million gay Gleeks out there. Imagine me walking in the streets and die-hard fans would attack me with tomatoes and eggs because I stole some imaginary character’s boyfriend. That would be so harsh for me. Maybe I would be a fling, a sort of rebound guy for Blaine during a cool off  from his relationship with Kurt but not totally steal his heart away from his original love. And that will leave me as a sad loveless martyr, caring about a boy who loves another.

OMG! Can you just imagine all the Glee club girls hating me/Chris?

MY SONGS OF CHOICE

Of course, part of being in Glee are the songs that I have to sing. This is really a fun part to imagine.

I can imagine Kurt and Chris singing Fergie’s Labels or Love from the soundtrack of Sex and the City The Movie while they both shop for clothes.

If not, they can sing Jimmy James’s Fashionista. No one ugly allowed!

I’m also thinking of doing Taylor Swift’s You Belong With Me. The song is country pop and it’s easy to rock with it. A very good cat fight song.

Since Chris will be a prodigy of Kurt, he will also learn to love the best modern Broadway musical, Wicked. And of course, I picked a very sad song which is just perfect for Chris’s struggle for the love of Blaine- I’m Not That Girl.

And of course, I want something that will make me work my ass out by dancing but at the same time, full of hurt and emotions. Oh yeah! A Robyn song is the perfect choice. I can see Chris singing and dancing his heart after he finds out about Kurt and Blaine’s make up.

So what do you think about this big fantasy role? Do you think Ryan Murphy would agree with this suggestion and give me this one? Hahaha! In my dreams but only God knows. Being on Glee is not my priority as of now but if given the chance to work for a show that is totally fun and inspiring, who am I to say no?

Hit the comments section and tell me your opinions. I’ll be glad to hear them.

About jennechrisville

http://jennechrisville.com
This entry was posted in Babbling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Dream Role in GLEE

  1. I love this entry. My dream role on the other hand is to be Darren Criss’ girlfriend in real life.

  2. Laynie says:

    My dream role is glee is santana’s little sister… Santana brings her to glee club practice after school one day and mr shue looooves her singing so he talks to the principal who let’s her stay in the glee club….. Santana hates having her little sister around but when she realizes how good she is she doesn’t argue with brining her to glee club…btw her name is Anna….. And she rly clicks with Rachel and has a secret crush on puck even though she only in sixth grade…. And she comes with Santana on the first day cuz her parents aren’t home and she didnt want to be home alone while sanatana was at glee club….. On that day she was just fooling around in the other room singing with rachel… They were singing get it right and when mr shue walked in he heard and wanted her to stay that’s when he talked to the principal…. Do u like the character…. I am a total gleek just like u and I am going into seventh grade and wanted to make a role for myself 🙂

  3. Laynie says:

    My dream role is glee is santana’s little sister… Santana brings her to glee club practice after school one day and mr shue looooves her singing so he talks to the principal who let’s her stay in the glee club….. Santana hates having her little sister around but when she realizes how good she is she doesn’t argue with brining her to glee club…btw her name is Anna….. And she rly clicks with Rachel and has a secret crush on puck even though she only in eigth grade…. Do u like my idea?

  4. ROLANE says:

    love the story!!!and your role!! lol!!

  5. jeypkins says:

    Tamaaa yan. Alisin muna sa spotlight ang drama ni rachel. Si kurt naman through Chris. Hahaha. Dapat may ultimate showdown kayo, a performance. Ano kayang perfect song? Freakum’ Dress, beyonce? Idk. Haha ikaw bahala…

  6. The role is totally YOU and everything wonderful about it. 😉 Maybe Ryan Murphy’s reading – who knows?

  7. citybuoy says:

    i think it’s perfect! the wicked song was a nice touch. dagdag ka Lang ng isang character. parang Artie yung effect, lampa (not necessarily Naka wheelchair) but cute so that chris gets a happy ending too.

    another song that u can use is avant’s lie about us. super love ko yun.

  8. Heyyy,Thanx for ur message;)
    And i really love ur fashion!!!it is very cute!!X)
    if u r still in Tokyo,i want to meet u!!Really!!!

    Christy Mariko

Leave a Reply

